Learn Languages by Speaking Them

To learn languages you need to speak those languages as often as possible.  One trick is finding people who are prepared to speak to you (where you don’t feel to embarrassed to give it a go!).  This can be harder than it at first appears – most get embarrased trying to speak foreign languages with others.

Leave your tips for finding “candidates” that you are comfortable to speak to in the comments section!

3 responses to “Learn Languages by Speaking Them

  1. Better late than never!

    I have advertised by leaving 6 or so postcards locally in English asking for a Spanish person to converse with me. It has worked and I tend to meet with them once or twice a week and structure it content to suit both of us. I am good friends with one lady but I don’t meet her very often as she started to take advantage!! She teaches students English and wanted me to help prepare them for their exams, then was too busy to help me with my low level Spanish! These partners come and go but that doesn’t matter. Most contacts are then gained by word of mouth.
    I have visited Valencia on couple of times and think it is great but rather heavy on traffic after San Javier! Tell us about the traffic and about how you have been treated in Valencia. Thanks.

  2. Excuse my awful typing – great blog !

  3. Practicing something that you really like is the best way to learn it.

    Like when I am learning how to skateboard, I need to have associates for me to learn it. Now, that I want to learn a new foreign language, I needed people whom I could converse with, and I am practicing it in daily conversations for me to get the feel and rhythm of the language.

    Its easy if you would be dedicated to your craft, and its fun to have someone you could converse with. Good luck and good times.

Leave a comment